Money Exchange SUCKS!!!!

Angry frog

Can’t the world just agree to use Pesos? It would save everyone time, money and a lot of worry and headache.

As you know, I head to Canada on Sunday. I plan to use my debit card and not bother with travelers checks or cash. Today, I called my credit union to find out if they charge a fee to use my debit card in a foreign country. Surprise! MasterCard debit cards charges 1% and you have to call your bank to open your card to use in a foreign country! I was informed that if I had tried to use my card in Canada, they would have locked the account.  I then would have had to use my AT&T cell phone, at $.70 per minute (after having paid the $60 international plan) to call my bank and unlock my card.

HOW IS IT POSSIBLE THAT THIS INFORMATION IS NOT MORE READILY AVAILABLE? We live in a world where millions of people leave the US everyday!

Deep breath…

My mothers suggestion is that we just take travelers checks. How do you pay an Uber driver with a travelers check. This is not 1987. That is not going to work.

So I have decided to do the following, and will let you know how it turns out and what works best.

I am taking $250 in travelers checks, $500 in Canadian dollars and the rest I will use the debit card.  I am hoping this will be a good breakdown and I will be able to cover everything effortlessly. Ha!

frog

 

Leave a Reply

